I’ve wanted to run the Cherry Blossom 10 Miler for a while.  It seems like every time I go to register for it, it’s already sold out.  Bummer right?

Well, last week my buddy Dave had himself a good idea.  If it was nice enough out, why not just show up and run the race, sans race bibs.

Now I know what you’re thinking.  Why don’t we wait our turn and sign up like everyone else?  Why shouldn’t we have to pay??  Didn’t our mothers teach us any morals?

Well, I couldn’t really see the harm in ducking in towards the back of the pack, running around DC with the rest of the crowd, enjoying the scenic views of the cherry blossoms of the tidal basin, then slipping off just after finish back on to the metro.  I mean, who’s it going to hurt if two extra guys just show up and run?

As it turned out, no one.  Despite my fears of being caught, ridiculed and apprehended by race security (if there even was any), we ran the entire race course without even a second look from any course workers.

We spent about 90 minutes running a tremendously beautiful race course on an absolutely perfect day.  The weather, sunny and about 50 degrees, could not have been any better.  And even though we had just ran a half marathon the week before, we both felt surprisingly fresh and full of energy.

So was crashing the race the “right” thing to do?  I don’t know.  I will definitely still try to register for it in the future, but I probably wouldn’t think twice about jumping in to run again, even if I lack a race number.

