Last night was my last run before the National Half Marathon this coming saturday.  My training cycle peaked a week and a half ago with a 14 mile long run, and every run since then has been progressively shorter and faster since then, capped off with a 35 minute 4 miler last evening.

Now the big wait begins, and this is the part I hate.  I’m catching more sleep (at least 9 hours a night), eating healthy, avoiding alcohol and caffeine and I feel great.  And because I feel great, there’s nothing I want more than to get outside and spend a few hours running.

Last night after work, was a perfect night for running.  I mean, this is the kind of weather I dream of.  It was 65 degrees outside, there was a nice breeze blowing in from the storm front that was coming in.  I could have kept going for hours in weather like that.  It took a lot of self-control to turn around at mile 2 rather than just keep going off down the trail.

I know it will all be worth it.  On Saturday morning I feel rested and ready with fresh legs and plenty of gas in the tank to have a great race.

I just wish it was tomorrow.

