I’m a walking contradiction.    Or at least it feels that way after this weekend.

On Friday night I got home from the office and went out with the fiance out for a training run.  She’s starting to train up for a the Irongirl triathlon in August so we went out for a nice leisurely 20 minute run.   We got back and made a nice, healthy salad with grilled steak on top and a soup on the side.   We both crashed out at about 11pm.
The following morning I woke up early, did some chores around the house and whipped up a batch of whole wheat blueberry pancakes (more on those next post).  They turned out great and I washed them down with a couple of cups of black coffee.  The weekend was off to a great start so far.

Around lunchtime I loaded up the iPod with some new tunes and drove out to the WO&D canal trail for my longest training run of my cycle before the half-marathon in two weeks.  It  was a tremendous day to go out and spend 2+ hours out on a trail.  The weather was sunny and in the mid 50s, warm enough to not freeze but cool enough to where you’re not sweating your ass off.  I finished the run in pretty respectable time, averaging about 9:40 a mile, and got back in the truck to head home.

And this is where the wheels started to come off.  That  evening we got all dressed up went to meet up with friends and family at the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation’s Brewers Ball at National’s Stadium in DC.   The Brewer’s Ball showcases small breweries from all over the mid-Atlantic region and we helped ourselves to many a glass of Dogfish Head 60 Minute IPA.  Needless to say, it turned out to be a pretty long night/morning.  When I finally crashed out at about 4am, I was definitely regretting the last 1-2 pints.

But, as they say, there’s no rest for the wicked.  Because the next day, after dragging myself out of bed  and doing some yard work,  we managed to rally and head back into DC for THE gluttonous event of the year, the Cochon 555.

If you’re not  familiar with the Cochon, don’t sweat it.  I hadn’t heard of it either until a friend suggested we go check it out.  Essentially, it’s a friendly competition between some pretty esteemed local chefs who are each given a farm raised heritage pig to turn into whatever kind of culinary delight they choose.  They then serve these dishes to a hungry audience who, in turn judges those dishes and helps determine a winner.    There’s also a butchering competition, a pig roast, cocktails from St. Germaine and even a raw oyster bar!  In a word, it’s basically heaven.

Ate, we drank, we went back and ate some more.  And when that was done, we found even more food.   I literally don’t think I’ve ever consumed so many calories in one single day.  It was magnificent.

I have no doubt that between all the eating and drinking,  I probably earned back every calorie I burned on my run and them some.  Is it wrong that I really don’t care?  So I’ll be making it up this week with lots healthy eating and no drinking.    No trips to Rocklands this week, no beers after work, no eating 1/2 of a cupcake that one of the ladies I work with brought in.

So while it’ll suck a little bit, I’ll fondly think back to the pork belly ramen noodles, the beautiful pieces of head cheese, the  succulent stewed pork and grits (of which I got seconds thirds of), the amazing pulled pork and cheddar muffin and all the other examples of decadence I partook of this weekend.  I’ll think about them as I crunch on my carrots and say to myself..

“It was all worth it!”

