I have to say, I wish I read more.  I go through 5-6 magazines and 2-3 books a month, but I could read more.  Problem is, I usually only read right before I go to bed.    For the last 30 minutes or so of the day before I turn out the lights I’m laying there, reading the latest magazine I got in the mail, or racing to finishing off a book a book that’s overdue at the library.  I’ll occasionally try to sneak in a few hours on a lazy weekend when the weather is gross, but unless I’m on vacation or traveling, that 30 minutes a day is all I really get.

So I try to fill it with 30 minutes of reading stuff I really enjoy.  I have a rule about reading a book, if I’m not into it after the first 10 pages, I’m not finishing it.  It’ll either get sent back to the library or, if I bought it, I’ll end up passing it on to a friend.

And you’ll see that most of my reading selections follow similar themes:

  1. Outdoorsy or adventure type stuff
  2. Contemporary non-fiction
  3. Post-apocalyptic or zombie (or both) fiction

So pretty much if it’s about climbing mountains,  trekking through a desert, the geo-political situation in the Middle East or the coming zombie apocalypse, I’m reading it.

One that is helping me read more is the iPad my loving fiancée bought me for my birthday last year.  I can now carry a whole library of books around with me, and pickup and start reading when I have a spare 30 minutes or so.  Another advantage is I don’t have to wait for a book to ship from amazon or come in at the library.  It’s on my iPad almost instantly!

So with that said, here’s some of the stuff I’ve read lately that I’ve enjoyed, along with some of the books in my queue that are waiting to be read. What about you?  Anything missing off this list that I should be reading?

Recently Read

Reading or In the Queue

  • 4-Hour Body – From the same author as the 4-Hour Workweek.  Offers information about everything that pertains to the body including weight loss, sleep habits and reaching your genetic potential.
  • Princess: A True Story of Life Behind the Veil in Saudi ArabiaRead and recommended by the fiancée. Written by a princess in Saudi Arabia, she provides a behind the scenes view of what life is like for a woman in modern Saudi Arabia.
  • Vagabonding: An Uncommon Guide to the Art of Long-Term World Travel – I thought this would be an interesting read because I dream of being able to ditch it all and travel the world with only a backpack and vague plan, even if only for a short while.
  • The Climb – A counter story to John Krakauer’s Into Thin Air, written by another climber who was on the mountain at the same time.

 

