We’re dog people.  The fiancee and I recently lost our 9 year old dog to bone cancer.  We agreed we would wait a while to grieve a bit before  bringing another dog home.  But we’re dog people.   After having Angel for a year, coming home to an empty house without a wacky canine wagging its whole behind in excitement just seemed foreign to us both.

So, after talking it over a bit, we decided to do  a little dog “shopping” on Saturday.  I saw “shopping” because we were really just visiting foster dogs and seeing if any were a fit for us.  Now, I don’t think there’s any thing wrong with getting a dog from a reputable breeder, but we both believe the best dogs for us are the ones that just need a good home.

I will say this; I’m a strong believer in just knowing when you’ve found the right dog.   When you meet the dog you’re meant to go home with,  you just get a feeling that you can’t go home without this pooch.  Sadly, we really didn’t get that connection with any of the dogs we met up with on Saturday.
Sunday, as you know, we were all set to take a beginner rock climbing class at SportRock in Alexandria at noon.  I woke up, did some work around the house and then had a nice breakfast with the fiancee before getting ready to head off to the class.   The fiancee, who was looking at her laptop, pipped up and said “You know, Lost Dog Rescue is having an adoption event in Alexandria today from 1-4pm…”.

I did not know that.
Lost Dog Rescue (yes, the same people behind Lost Dog Cafe – great pizza BTW), is where we got our last dog, Angel, from.  They’re a great organization that does a tremendous job to place great dogs in forever homes.  I was worried we’d get there and there’d be no dogs left, since we were already going to be Alexandria, I suggested we swing over after the class and check it out.    I wasn’t optimistic our luck would be any better than than the day before, but I thought it was worth a shot.

So after class (don’t worry, I’ll do a write up on the class tomorrow, it was excellent) we headed over to the Petsmart in Alexandria to check out the adoption event.  To our surprise, there were still plenty of great dogs running around looking for homes.

We stopped and petted a few that were about the size we were looking for to see if there was any that we had a connection with.   We were looking at a really sweet terrier mix when this guy came over and put his head on my knee and quietly looked up at me:

Well, hello there!  Forget finding a dog, I think this one just found us!

I instantly turned to goo.   Turns out this cute little guy, a 5ish year old hound, named Dan, was found as a stray wandering around in West Virginia.  Lost Dog got him about a month ago, cleaned him and up and here he was.

I sat on the floor of the Petsmart and he proceeded to snuggle up next to me as if to say “please, take me”.   I told the finacee:

“I’m not leaving without this dog”

Her reply:

“Yah, this is our dog”

So we filled out some paperwork, did a quick adoption interview and the next thing we knew he had jumped in the back seat of my truck and took a nap

We got him home where he sniffed around his new backyard, peed on every tree and bush in sight and then came inside and just laid at our feet right by the couch.  It was almost as if he’d been there for years.

As I left the house for work this morning I turned to look back at the door.   A door that until yesterday was empty was now occupied by a happy canine, waiting anxiously for his new family to come home again.

